The Question My Idol Asked

Today I met my idol
Am I sounding to immature?
How about role model? That’s more grown-up talk.

Yes, I met my role model today
As an intern, I used to cycle past his place at Lijiang China, wishing that I would one day be a guest at this luxurious resort.
Now, I look forward to the day I can hold my company retreat there
And today I spoke with the man himself

Mr Ho Kwon Ping

As an intern, I used to cycle past Lijiang's Banyan Tree resort and dream that I can be a guest there some day!

This was how we met
Shannon and I were at the wrong venue for a seminar
Late and rushing blindly to the right destination,
We almost ran past him if not for the media crew surrounding him

Ready to do a self introduction, we realised that we ran out of namecards!
Shannon sprint to the office to grab some cards while I stayed on to shadow his movements

It was a quick 3 min chat.
He asked,”Who are your competitors?”
A likely question, given that he believes every entrepreneur should be paranoid about their business.
Never rest on your laurels

To our great delight, he said we may collaborate (can’t say what it is, since nothing is confirmed)

Our encounter was a pure coincidence
We took action to engage him and that’s how we try, try and try

Seize every opportunity, heck failure
Unfortunately, they don’t teach this in school

2 Comments

Filed under Networking, Talking business

2 responses to “The Question My Idol Asked

  1. Very nice little story.

    Keep hustling! Cheers!

Leave a comment