Not Just Another Birthday

I can’t remember how I spend my last 23 birthdays
But this year is one that I’ll never forget

Shannon threw a surprise party - Nico strum the guitar while other colleagues sung 'Happy Birthday'!

My big day in brief
Kicking off with an important investor meeting at 10am
Completing with a sumptuous dinner with our advisor at 11pm
Business talk – around the clock

By the time I reached home, everyone was asleep
They’ve probably waited too long for my return
Guilt gripped me

Fortunately, my parents weren’t hopping mad over my absence
A cake was in our fridge overnight
The next evening, we cut the cake together
And I had three servings!

I’ll remember this year, not because of my workaholic habits
But because I realised the importance of family support
Without which, success would be a step further

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Small talk

Leave a comment